Singapore Mathematical Olympiad 2004

A report by Helmer Aslaksen

he Singapore Mathematical Society (SMS) has organised the Singapore Mathematical Olympiad (SMO) annually since the 1950's. It is the largest and oldest mathematics competition in Singapore. Over the last few years, with the Department of Mathematics, National University of Singapore as co-organizer, the SMO has expanded significantly. Over 7400 students from 124 secondary schools and junior colleges took part in the SMO in June. The details of the three competitions are as follows:

- 1. The Singapore Mathematical Olympiad (Junior Section) for lower secondary school student.
- 2. The Singapore Mathematical Olympiad (Senior Section) for all secondary school students.
- 3. The Singapore Mathematical Olympiad (Open Section) for secondary school and junior college students.

Team and Individual cash prizes are awarded in addition to Gold, Silver, Bronze and Honourable Mention awards. We aim to make the SMO measure the mathematical proficiency of the students, and the Gold, Silver, Bronze and Honourable Mention certificates are awarded to students who meet set criteria that are dependent on the level of difficulty of the competition.

We have increased the number of questions aimed at measuring the proficiency of the students, which makes the SMO suitable for the better normal stream students. We have therefore stopped the Singapore Secondary School Mathematical Competition.

The Prize Presentation Ceremony was held at The Chinese High School on Saturday 4 September 2004. The Guest of Honour was Professor David Donoho, Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor of Humanities and Sciences, and Professor of Statistics, Stanford University.

The competitions were sponsored by the Lee Foundation and partially supported by a financial grant from the Ministry of Education.

The Mathematical Competition Subcommittee consisted of A/P Helmer Aslaksen (Chairman),

Mr Hang Kim Hoo (Deputy Chairman), A/P Victor Tan (Junior Section Coordinator), A/P To Wing Keung (Senior Section Coordinator), A/P Tay Tiong Seng (Open Section Coordinator), Ms Stella Pang (Operations Coordinator), Mr Melvin Soh (IT Coordinator), A/P Yang Yue, Dr Tan Ban Pin, A/P Chew Tuan Seng, Dr Ng Kah Loon, Mr Ng Wee Seng, Dr Tay Eng Guan, Dr Toh Tin Lam, Dr Lee Tuo Yeong, Mr Hang Kim Hoo (Clementi Town Sec), Mr Ang Mia Lee (River Valley High), Mr Chia Yew Loon (Nan Hua Sec), Mr David Chia (Pioneer JC), Mr Ho Fu Chew (Clementi Town Sec), Mrs Grace Chua (Nanyang Girls' High), Dr Teo Kok Ming, Dr Tan Kai Meng, A/P Tang Wai Shing, A/P Tay Tiong Seng, Dr Wong Yan Loi, A/P Chua Seng Kee, A/P Denny Leung, Dr Roger Poh.

Singapore Mathematical Olympiad 2004 Junior Section (Team)

Raffles Institution		
Chan Wai Hong Ronald, Lim Jun Ren, Tan Chong Min, Tan Juanhe		
Winner of the Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge Trophy		
The Chinese High School		
Choo Jia Guang, Lim Wei Quan, Yeo Zheng Hang		
Raffles Girls' School (Secondary)		
Deng Ying, Kwek Jia Li, Tan Zek Gian		
Singapore Mathematical Olympiad 2004 Junior Section (Individual)		
Chan Wai Hong Ronald, Raffles Institution		
Winner of the Liew Mai Heng Memorial Prize (Junior Section)		
Lim Wei Quan, The Chinese High School		
Winner of the Liew Mai Heng Memorial Prize (Junior Section)		
Lim Jun Ren, Raffles Institution		
Singapore Mathematical Olympiad 2004 Senior Section (Team)		
Raffles Institution		
Peng Yifan, Tian Longtao, Wang Zhiyan, Yang Yi, Zhao Yan		
Winner of the Singapore National Academy of Science Challenge Shield		
Dunman High School		
Deng Yufeng, Hu Qu Zhao, Liu Shuo		
Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)		
	Raffles InstitutionChan Wai Hong Ronald, Lim Jun Ren, Tan Chong Min, Tan JuanheWinner of the Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge TrophyThe Chinese High SchoolChoo Jia Guang, Lim Wei Quan, Yeo Zheng HangRaffles Girls' School (Secondary)Deng Ying, Kwek Jia Li, Tan Zek GianMathematical Olympiad 2004 Chon (Individual)Chan Wai Hong Ronald, Raffles InstitutionWinner of the Liew Mai Heng Memorial Prize (Junior Section)Lim Wei Quan, The Chinese High SchoolWinner of the Liew Mai Heng Memorial Prize (Junior Section)Lim Jun Ren, Raffles InstitutionMathematical Olympiad 2004 Chon (Team)Raffles InstitutionWinner of the Liew Mai Heng Memorial Prize (Junior Section)Lim Jun Ren, Raffles InstitutionPeng Yifan, Tian Longtao, Wang Zhiyan, Yang Yi, Zhao YanWinner of the Singapore National Academy of Science Challenge ShieldDunman High SchoolDunman High SchoolAnglo-Chinese School (Independent)	

Jiang Xiang, Li Miao, Yuan Sujie

Singapore Mathematical Olympiad 2004 Senior Section (Individual)

- 1st Prize Zhao Yan, Raffles Institution
 Winner of the Liew Mai Heng Memorial Prize (Senior Section)
 2nd Prize Wang Zhiyan, Raffles Institution
- 2nd Prize Hang Hao Chuien, The Chinese High School

Singapore Mathematical Olympiad 2004 Open Section (Team)

1st Prize Raffles Junior College

Anand B. Rajagopalan, Andre Kueh, Sia Jia Min Charmaine

Winner of the Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge Shield,

Winner of the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society Prize

2nd Prize Hwa Chong Junior College

Ho Jun Feng Jack, Lan Jiaming Joseph, Luo Cheng

2nd Prize The Chinese High School

Hang Hao Chuien, Wang Tengyao, Wang Yifeng

Singapore Mathematical Olympiad 2004 Open Section (Individual)

1 st Prize	Andre Kueh, Raffles Junior College
	Winner of the Singapore Mathematical Society Prize
2 nd Prize	Joel Tay, Raffles Junior College
3 rd Prize	Tian Mingwei, Anglican High School
3 rd Prize	Zhang Xiayang, National Junior College
3 rd Prize	Sia Jia Min Charmaine, Raffles Junior College

Members of the Singapore Team to the 45th International Mathematical Olympiad

Kueh Ju Lui, Andre Tay Jingyi, Kenneth Tay Wei En, Joel Anand B. Rajagopalan Chen Chongli, Daniel Sia Jia Min, Charmaine Raffles Junior College Anglo-Chinese Junior College Raffles Junior College Raffles Junior College Hwa Chong Junior College Raffles Junior College Silver Medal Silver Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal Bronze Medal Bronze Medal



SMO Junior Section 7nd Team Prize (River Valley High School) On the right is A/P Tan Eng Chye, the President of Singapore Mathematical Society



SMO Senior Section 8nd Team Prize (Chung Cheng High School (Main)) On the right is the Guest of Honour, Professor David Donoho from Stanford University



SMO Senior Section 7nd Team Prize (Crescent Girls' School)



SMO Senior Section 1st Team Prize (Raffles Institution)



SMO (Open Section) 1st Team Prize (Raffles Junior College)



SMO (Open Section) 14th Individual Prize (Shawn Eastwood, Individual Participant)