NEWS AND ACTIVITIES OF THE SOCIETY

Annual General Meeting

At its 12th Annual General Meeting held on Friday, 23 March 1979, at 4.30 p.m. in New Lecture Theatre No. 3, the University of Singapore — Nanyang University Joint Campus, Bukit Timah Road, the Society elected the following officials for 1979:

President : Prof. Chew Kim Lin

Vice-Presidents : Mr. Chan Kai Yau

Prof. Lee Peng Yee Prof. Peng Tsu Ann

Secretary : Dr. Chong Chi Tat

Treasurer : Dr. Leonard Yap

Editor : Dr. Leong Yu Kiang

Assistant Editor : Dr. Cheng Kai Nah

Committee Members : Dr. Koh Khee Meng

Prof. K. K. Sen Dr. Shee Sze Chen Prof. M. J. Wicks

Librarian : Dr. Woo Kai Yuen

Dr. Ta Huu Phuong was elected Honorary Auditor.

The Annual Report and the Treasurer's Report are included in this Medley.

Lectures

- (1) Tuesday; 16 January 1979: "Fourier transforms of smooth functions" by Walter R. Bloom (Murdoch University, Australia).
- (2) Thursday, 22 February 1979: "Tolerance regions for the difference of two random variables" by S. Rinco (University of New Brunswick, Canada, and University of Singapore).
- (3) Thursday, 22 March 1979: "Bond percolation theory" by B.C. Rennie (James Cook University, Australia).
- (4) Friday, 23 March 1979: "The development of natural numbers and complex numbers" by J. N. Crossley (Monash University, Australia).

Inter-School Mathematical Competition 1979

The above competition was organised by the Society on Friday, 16 March 1979, at Catholic Junior College. A total of 99 students from 17 secondary schools and junior colleges took part.

The results are as follows:

Team Results

Position	School	Team members
1 ma CE.	Anglo-Chinese Junior College	Chan Shih Ping Loh Wei Hung Lui Tuck Yew
2	Hwa-Chong Junior College	Chua Hock Chuan Quak Beng Wee Young Joo Chye
3	National Junior College	Chong Wing Teck Ho Shih Chuan Ng Yan Kong

Anglo-Chinese Junior College was awarded the Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge Shield for sending in the winning team. Each member of the above three teams will receive a book prize.

Individual Results

Position	Competitor	School
9 1	Chan Shih Ping	Anglo-Chinese Junior College
2	Ling San Young Joo Chye	Anglo-Chinese Secondary School Hwa Chong Junior College
3	Chua Jui Piow Quak Beng Wee David Ling Leong Hui	Hwa Chong Junior College Hwa Chong Junior College Anglo-Chinese Secondary School

CHAN SHIH PING received the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society Prize of US\$100.00. LING SAN and YOUNG JOO CHYE each received S\$100.00. CHUA JUI PIOW, QUAK BENG WEE and DAVID LING LEONG HUI each received S\$75.00. Each of the above competitors also received a book prize.