## **NEWS AND ACTIVITIES OF THE SOCIETY**

## Annual General Meeting as a selections and or entirely and between the great and the selection and the

At the 13th Annual General Meeting held on Friday, 22 February 1980, at 4.00 p.m. in the New Lecture Theatre No. 2, University of Singapore — Nanyang University Joint Campus, the Society elected the following officials for 1980:

President : Prof. Peng Tsu Ann

ental To Vice-Presidents: Mr. Chan Kai Yau d bluoda anottulos to ameldo 9

Prof. Lee Peng Yee 2012 to value vint lanoits A 2013 sm.

Secretary: Dr. Louis H.Y. Chen

Treasurer : Dr. Chang Boon Chong

Editor : Prof. Lam Lay Yong

Assistant Editors : Mr. Chan Sing Chun

Dr. Cheng Kai Nah

Committee Members : Prof. Chew Kim Lin

Dr. Chong Chi Tat Dr. Koh Khee Meng Dr. Shee Sze Chin

Dr. Wan Fook Sun was elected Honorary Auditor.

Inter-school Mathematical Competition, 1980

The competition was held at Raffles Institution on 31 May 1980. A total of 91 students from 17 schools were entered for the competition.

The results were as follows:

## Team Results

Position	School	Team members
1 be periodic periodic, Le rational mis	Hwa Chong Junior College	Pantas Sutardja Ong Chih Hao Ling San
2	Temasek Junior College	Ang Eng Seng Chang Kok Chin L. Tan Peng Yeow
3	Hwa Chong Junior College	Tan Choon Kheng Lam Chih Tsung Loh Wing Wah

The Singapore Mathematical Society Challenge Shield was awarded to Hwa Chong Junior College. Each member of the three teams listed above received a prize.

## Individual Results

Position	Competitor	School girlmedmaM .
own below. Tite		
2	Ling San Ong Chih Hao	Hwa Chong Junior College Hwa Chong Junior College
3.	Lam Chih Tsung	Variable level Physics
4.	Wong Kiat Kong	Raffles Institution

Pantas Sutardja was awarded the Southeast Asian Mathematical Society Prize of US\$100/-. Each of the other four competitors named above also received a prize.. The prizes were given away by Professor S. Chern on 27 June at the University of Singapore.



Professor Chern with some of the prize winners of the Inter-school Mathematical Competition 1980. From left to right: Tan Choon Keng, Loh Wing Wah, Ong Chih Hao, Professor Chern, Pantas Sutardja, Lam Chih Tsung and Ling San (Photograph by kind permission of *Sin Chew Jit Poh*)